Welcome! Becoming a registered user of ShortWingPipers.Org is free and easy! Click the "Register" link found in the upper right hand corner of this screen. It's easy and you can then join the fun posting and learning about Short Wing Pipers!

Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Thread: 0 time to short wing pilot

Post Thanks / Like

Default 0 time to short wing pilot

I'm new to the short wing piper. My buddy just bought a Piper colt tailwheel with 150hp Lycoming. I am suppose to teach him to fly it, he has no prior experience. I'm a low time CFI with 4-500 hours tailwheel time but none as instructor or in a colt. I made a few landings with it and bounced every one. I guess I need more practice myself. Any advice or information would be welcome.

Post Thanks / Like

Default Re: 0 time to short wing pilot

Yes practice.

Search approach speeds, you will lots of discussion.

Use 80 mph on long approach. Cut to 70 on final and find the best speed and power combination that works for you.
    "You can only tie the record for flying low."

Post Thanks / Like

RTH...Welcome to SWPO, and to the world of SWP's! With 400+ hr of T/W time, the Colt should not be a huge challenge for you. I guess I will begin by asking you what difficulties you are encountering? You said you "bounced every one" of the landings you made. Did you float after the bounce, or did it settle right back on? What speeds are you using for your approaches? Are you trimmed to pretty much neutral as you go into the flare?
    Lets start with the basics, and work our way through this.
    Quote Originally Posted by Stephen View Post
    Yes practice.

Search approach speeds, you will lots of discussion.

Use 80 mph on long approach. Cut to 70 on final and find the best speed and power combination that works for you.