Welcome! Becoming a registered user of ShortWingPipers.Org is free and easy! Click the "Register" link found in the upper right hand corner of this screen. It's easy and you can then join the fun posting and learning about Short Wing Pipers!

Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Thread: Total Newbie

Post Thanks / Like

Default Total Newbie

So, my son-in-law of 2-years finally took me out to visit the hangar his grandfather has owned for decades at a little uncontrolled airfield within a couple miles of my house. He'd been telling me that he had an old airplane sitting in there, but that it hadn't been flown in quite a while and that he thought it needed a bunch of work. Turns out the aircraft in question is a '57 PA-22 Tri-Pacer 150, converted to taildragger, and with droop tips. It's dusty and has obviously been sitting for a while, but it seems to be in fine shape, with a snazzy yellow/red paint scheme. Looks like it was parked after it's last flight. The front seats are out of it, presumably to facilitate disconnecting the battery, but that's the only thing out of configuration I can see. That said, I'm sure it'll take some effort to get this beauty back in service. So, looking for advice, tips, warnings, notes, cautions, etc. as we look into what this will take. We're in Colorado at close to 7,000', so humidity shouldn't really be an issue.

I've got my PPL SEL, but it's been quite a while since I've flown, so I won't be doing the initial flights. I have decent mechanical skills, but know that most of the work needs to be accomplished by an A&P.

Thanks in advance for the help!

- Glynn

Post Thanks / Like

Default Re: Total Newbie

What a great sounding project and adventure. Get a local mechanic on board and to look over the project and help you write out a list of things you can do.

Get the engine running, check compression, new batter. Clean and lube controls. Check electrical system. Does it have radios? This will all lead up to an annual.