Welcome! Becoming a registered user of ShortWingPipers.Org is free and easy! Click the "Register" link found in the upper right hand corner of this screen. It's easy and you can then join the fun posting and learning about Short Wing Pipers!

Page 1 of 5 123 ... LastLast

Thread: Windows!

Post Thanks / Like

Default Windows!

Can we talk about windows? I copied CamTom12's plane and window pics from the Experimental SW string because I'm interested in same/similar window mods for my plane someday. He's obviously got a pretty special SW and I'm still learning about mods that drive you to Exp. category vs. remaining Certified. Wondering if some or all of these mods could readily be approved for a Certified Tri-Pacer? Any insight (no pun) appreciated.
    -Subsonic

Post Thanks / Like

Default Re: Windows!

As long as you don't make structural changes, I can't imagine it'd be tough to get a field approval.

My guess is that you couldn't consider it a minor mod (fabric vs. plexi) since you're changing the covering instructions which are a major mod. Right?

Post Thanks / Like

So, if we assume you're correct, does if follow that;
    1. the front door window mod is a minor alteration,
    2. the rear door window addition is likewise a minor alteration,
    3. the added boot cowl windows (plexi replaces aluminum), the window below the left side pilots standard window (plexi vs. fabric), and the right side rear cut-out (plexi vs. fabric) are major alterations?
    Last edited by Subsonic; 02-05-2019 at 05:30 PM. Reason: terminology - mod vs. alteration

Post Thanks / Like

CamTom12 - The strip below your windshield to the top cowl isn't stock. No rivets. So slick! What is it? Thx.

Post Thanks / Like

Quote Originally Posted by Subsonic View Post
    CamTom12 - The strip below your windshield to the top cowl isn't stock. No rivets. So slick! What is it? Thx.
    I believe it's fiberglass. Not sure how it's bonded, but some sort of glue I think.

Post Thanks / Like