Welcome! Becoming a registered user of ShortWingPipers.Org is free and easy! Click the "Register" link found in the upper right hand corner of this screen. It's easy and you can then join the fun posting and learning about Short Wing Pipers!

Thanks Thanks:  0
Likes Likes:  0
Results 1 to 6 of 6

Thread: Original Circuit Breakers

  1. #1
    Pacerfgoe's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2009
    Location
    Close to Edmonton, Alberta
    Posts
    701
    Post Thanks / Like

    Default Original Circuit Breakers

    I have mostly the original C/B's in my plane, and am wondering if I should consider changing them to a more modern style breaker. Are there any known problems with the 1952 factory style breakers?
    Forrest Miller

  2. #2
    59pacer's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2010
    Location
    Mulgoa, Australia
    Posts
    320
    Post Thanks / Like

    Default Re: Original Circuit Breakers

    Quote Originally Posted by Pacerfgoe View Post
    I have mostly the original C/B's in my plane, and am wondering if I should consider changing them to a more modern style breaker. Are there any known problems with the 1952 factory style breakers?
    When I completely rewired the Pacer, I used all new c/bs of the 'pull-able type' or switch type.
    I wouldn't use flush ones because I couldn't disable circuits for troubleshooting purposes.
    Out of curiosity, I 'tested' the old ones by the simple method of jumper leads off a 35A battery. Most of the c/bs would burn out before they would trip!
    I'm glad that I made the decision that I did.

  3. #3
    gliderman's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2009
    Location
    Red Deer,AB Canada
    Posts
    1,004
    Post Thanks / Like

    Default Re: Original Circuit Breakers

    Hi Forrest

    I used these on FUWA
    https://www.aircraftspruce.ca/catalo...lickkey=179857

    I finally got back into the air this afternoon- 3 circuits= landed twice-rather rusty- 2 long months

    Shane-o

  4. #4
    59pacer's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2010
    Location
    Mulgoa, Australia
    Posts
    320
    Post Thanks / Like

    Default Re: Original Circuit Breakers

    Quote Originally Posted by 59pacer View Post
    When I completely rewired the Pacer, I used all new c/bs of the 'pull-able type' or switch type.
    I wouldn't use flush ones because I couldn't disable circuits for troubleshooting purposes.
    Out of curiosity, I 'tested' the old ones by the simple method of jumper leads off a 35A battery. Most of the c/bs would burn out before they would trip!
    I'm glad that I made the decision that I did.
    I just checked. They were Tyco W23 and W31 from Aircraft Spruce.

  5. #5
    Pacerfgoe's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2009
    Location
    Close to Edmonton, Alberta
    Posts
    701
    Post Thanks / Like

    Default Re: Original Circuit Breakers

    Quote Originally Posted by 59pacer View Post
    Most of the c/bs would burn out before they would trip!
    Yaaa......that's what I was thinking might happen!
    Forrest Miller

  6. #6
    Pacerfgoe's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2009
    Location
    Close to Edmonton, Alberta
    Posts
    701
    Post Thanks / Like

    Default Re: Original Circuit Breakers

    Quote Originally Posted by gliderman View Post
    Hi Forrest

    I used these on FUWA
    https://www.aircraftspruce.ca/catalo...lickkey=179857

    I finally got back into the air this afternoon- 3 circuits= landed twice-rather rusty- 2 long months

    Shane-o
    Those were the ones I was looking at as well Shane. I think a new project is going to be going on the list......sigh.

    Great that you got in the air again, I suffer the same thing every time I go out, my landings generally suck. I was supposed to go up tomorrow, but with all the snow we got Friday i'm snowed in.....need to put the skis on!
    Forrest Miller

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •