PDA

View Full Version : ELT Antenna Installation

taildraggerpilot
12-07-2007, 08:14 AM
This is a picture of how the ELT antenna has been installed in my airplane. Per the Ameri King instructions, it is permissible to install the antenna internal on fabric aircraft. There have been inquiries in the past as to how.

Gilbert Pierce
12-07-2007, 12:55 PM
I keep my airplane on a grass strip, 01TN. Went to the airport one day and a truck was waiting at the locked gate to get in. The driver said he was with the CAP and there was an ELT going off that the satellite had place close to the airport. He needed to get in to find it. I had a sinking feeling as he said this as the day before I had removed my instrument panel and had forgotton about the remote elt control panel.
Sure enough, my elt was going of.

My ELT antenna is mounted like Ben's in the picture above. I was an Aviation Electronics Technician in the Navy in my previous life. I have had enough antenna theory to know that the steel tubing in the airplane should theoretically distrup the radiation pattern of the antenna.
It did not keep the CAP from finding my airplane. The kicker is the hangar is steel frame and with steel siding. Defies logic.

Zac Weidner
11-23-2009, 07:53 PM
Where did you install you ELT? We were going to mount the AK451-2 on the tubes behind the baggage compartment with the angled bracket in the installation instructions, but that antenna mount helps tremendously. You wouldn't happen to have any more pictures of it, would you?

Do you have the 406/121.5 model or the strictly 121.5 model? Will this method work for 406?

I feel like I have been bothering you lately with questions Ben, but I hope not.

Thanks

taildraggerpilot
11-23-2009, 09:53 PM