PDA

View Full Version : Hub caps or no hub caps

Bayport Piper
05-14-2008, 12:57 PM
Hey everyone, I'm a newbie here and enjoy the forum. Had a question about hub caps, and whether its better with or without them on. I'm located on Long Island NY and heard both opinions at my airport. I personally think that hub caps tend to get dirt and grime lodged behind them, and not having them on makes it a bit easier to clean. I'd appreciate any input. Thanks John

Stephen
05-14-2008, 02:14 PM
No caps on my Pacer's wheels or wheel pants.

Glen Geller
05-14-2008, 04:01 PM
I prefer the look of the little hubcaps, and I think they tend to keep the wheel bearings cleaner.
It is not hard to remove them once a month and check behind them to see how dirty the wheels and hubs get.
A gasket could be made pretty easily and glued to the back of the hubcap to seal 'em up good. Just include a little gap-slot to allow them to breath.
On my plane I pull them off 2-3 times a year to check tire pressure and at annual, I have not seen any build up of crud behind them (tho' I am 90% on pavement.)
But I'm sure they add valuable streamlining to the plane, what maybe 15-20 knots? ;)

Steve Pierce
05-14-2008, 04:55 PM
I like them. My Clipper wheel bearings stayed a lot cleaner with hub caps. Granted I had Cleveland wheels and tight fitting hub caps. I even sprung for a new set when I bought the Pacer and took the wheel pants off. I think some of the old single screw Tri-Pacer hub caps that I have seen were used too much when they were new and don't fit so good anymore. :lol:

Bayport Piper
05-14-2008, 06:03 PM
I personally like the naked hub look but being that I'm on a grass field in Long Island I might as well spring for some caps. I figure some with gold plated Mercedes symbols on them. :D

Bultaco Jim
05-14-2008, 08:19 PM
More important than any hubcaps, my curb-feelers are mis-matched on the Pacer. Does anyone know where to find the originals?

Glen Geller
05-20-2008, 12:11 AM