PDA

View Full Version : Spins ????

pmanton
06-11-2008, 01:20 PM
I'm kind of a self taught PA-22 driver. I rented one back in the 50's. Bought one and had a CFI buddy fly back with me when I picked it up. This was his first flight in a shortwing and my first in over 50 years.

My CFI budy feels it would spin rather easily and could be a handful as far as spin recovery goes. I'm not so sure. With the plane's benign stall characteristics I think you'd have to really be ham fisted to force it into a spin. By now I have perhaps 80 hours in the plane and in my opinion it is a forgiving easy to fly machine. The only thing that I've found to be wary of is the sink rate which if you keep some energy isn't a real worry.

What do you experienced Shortwingers have to say about spins? Will it spin readily? If one did enter a spin is recovery conventional--that is release back pressure and opposite rudder?

Thanks

Paul
N1431A
KPLU

Steve Pierce
06-11-2008, 08:10 PM
I have spun a couple of Short Wings but it was very difficult to start. Took a very high nose up stall and hard rudder to start and then my clipper went over on her back and then spun. Neutral controls with opposite rudder stopped it.

Bultaco Jim
06-11-2008, 11:03 PM
From everything I have heard/read, the old Pipers are going to be easier to get out of a spin than any of the swept-tail planes, because the swept-tail is blocked from the moving air by the wing. So you have to push the swept-tail further over (more nose-down) to make the rudder effective. ( unless you enter a spin the way Steve does it!) I'll take the shortwing over a (are you ready for this Hillbilly?) Cessna in this department anyday. I agree with Steve, it's very hard to spin.

Hillbilly
06-12-2008, 06:08 AM