PDA

View Full Version : Piper Colt Training

wchurch
11-06-2009, 10:48 AM
Hello. I am brand new to your forum. I would like to ask the help of you short wing piper folks out there. I am thinking of starting a small flight school using Piper Colts.I have been instructing at the airlines for 20 years and recently taught at a flight school with a 2008 C-172 with a Garmin G1000. I believe that there is a shortage of basic stick and rudder as well as basic instrument flying skills in the new generation of pilots. I wanted my school to go as far back to basics as I could. I even considered tailwheel only training but for insurance and purchase costs I changed my mind. About 20 years ago I instructed in a Tri-Pacer for about 50 hours and it seemed like a pretty nice airplane. So I thought that the Colt may be the ticket. Are there any concerns with usining the Colt everyday as a primary trainer? Will it handle the repeated rough landings a student will put it through? Are there any special maintenance issues other than the obvious fabric maintenance? Lastly, does anyone out there know of an airport that could use a good small pilot school. Specifically an airport without 6 other schools and an airport commision looking for a new operation. Thanks for your help.

Tripod
11-06-2009, 11:10 AM
I have no first-hand experience using Colts as trainers. I did all of my PP training in C-150's. However, I did run across a website (in Germany, I think) that was boasting of having a fleet of flight school Colts and all had just passed the 10,000 hour mark. That flight school stated that each Colt had been "rebuilt" 3 times to reach that goal. They weren't real specific about the rebuild details, but I imagine it included a recover and a few engine overhauls. I don't know how 10,000 hours compares with competitor aircraft such as the C-150, but it sounds pretty impressive to me.

If I can find that website again, I will post the URL here.

Best wishes for your flight school!

-dave