PDA

View Full Version : Tri Pacer front seat removal

Bob M
01-27-2010, 10:21 AM
Ok, I'm new to shortwings and just found out that the Tri pacer front seat does not want to come out...do you have a trick or just cuss a lot?

Steve Pierce
01-27-2010, 11:54 AM
Split seats or a bench? There is a secret botton in the middle that most be pushed up to allow the seat to go forward and out.

Bob M
01-27-2010, 11:57 AM
It is a split seat '59 model

Steve Pierce
01-27-2010, 12:06 PM
I will get a picture of the seat button and post it.

Bob M
01-27-2010, 12:10 PM
Thx...you da man!

Steve Pierce
01-27-2010, 01:53 PM
Someone showed me a special tool they made to slip in and release this pin. I can't for the life of me remember who it was or what it looked like. I will have to experiment a little bit.

Zac Weidner
01-27-2010, 08:26 PM
I'm no expert because I have only taken the seats out a few times so far, but on one seat, I can push the button by hand to get it out but for the other, I use a long shafted standard screwdriver from the back underneath the seat and push on it with my other hand from between the seats. The only reason I even have to use the screwdriver is because I put the upholstery over the spring too tightly and it makes it a little more difficult.

PeterL
01-28-2010, 12:20 AM
Steve
How about on a 20 series, does the back (of the bottom frame), pull up when seat is all the way forward, or does the front end come out first.

I've tried several times but no luck, my seat is hard to move all the way forward.

Thxs in advance.

Peter Lubig

JoeB
01-28-2010, 12:55 AM
Steve
How about on a 20 series, does the back (of the bottom frame), pull up when seat is all the way forward, or does the front end come out first.

I've tried several times but no luck, my seat is hard to move all the way forward.

Thxs in advance.

Peter Lubig

Hi Peter,