PDA

View Full Version : does anybody know about Bendix AV80R GPS?

ricksteph
06-22-2010, 03:22 PM
I was just trying to find a low cost GPS.....was at first trying to get a reman 196 for like 350.00 but all have been sold this AV80R looks like around 599. and its color just was wondering what else was good.

Thanks for any input.
Rick

MN_flyer1
06-22-2010, 05:35 PM
I bought an HP IPAQ rx5910 on ebay for about $300. It is a PDA with a built in GPS. The software is from Approach Systems, Inc http://www.approach-systems.com. It is very reasonable and is compatible with any Windows PC, tablet, notebook, PDA (Windows Mobile 5 & 6). I recently inquired about the software on the Google Droid OS (HTC PDA). They said they are developing for the IApps first. I am looking for the IAPP release and may then get the IPAD.

I like it because it is in color.

Alaskajerry
06-22-2010, 05:56 PM
Hi I am a begining pilot (just learning) but do use gps units in my job and at home on a very regular basis. I just bought the new Garmin 500 for my plane and it is awesome (way better than the marine and handhelds I use all the time). I love the touch screen and it has a lot of useful info in it preloaded.
It cost around $800.00 and comes with several different mounts. If you can afford the extra money its well worth the cost.

Bill

Curly
06-22-2010, 07:15 PM
Rick,
I picked up an AV80R at Sun and Fun for $599 (about $AUD650 - here they are $895) and while I have not tried it in the aeroplane yet (Patsy is still in the workshop getting her makeover) it works great in the car!