Welcome! Becoming a registered user of ShortWingPipers.Org is free and easy! Click the "Register" link found in the upper right hand corner of this screen. It's easy and you can then join the fun posting and learning about Short Wing Pipers!

Thanks Thanks:  0
Likes Likes:  0
Page 2 of 2 FirstFirst 12
Results 11 to 19 of 19

Thread: Cylinder head temp gauge

  1. #11
    Flyjeep's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2018
    Location
    Southern IL
    Posts
    208
    Post Thanks / Like

    Default Re: Cylinder head temp gauge

    Looked at an old picture of when I first got the plane and the needle was at 1. It was winter and hadn't been running.

  2. #12
    Flyjeep's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2018
    Location
    Southern IL
    Posts
    208
    Post Thanks / Like

    Default Re: Cylinder head temp gauge

    Follow up.. I couldn't find a manufacturer name on the gauge ,but think the gauge is bad. I disconnected the Wire in back and there was no change on the gauge. While it was disconnected I put my meter on the wires and while cool it read 1.7 ohms. I warmed the engine up and it read 4.5 and that number went down as it cooled.

  3. #13
    Vagabondblues's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2008
    Location
    N/A
    Posts
    545
    Post Thanks / Like

    Default Re: Cylinder head temp gauge

    I am guessing that it is an older Westach. Probably for a 2 stroke Rotax engine with a spark plug attachment. The length of the "J" type probe has to be the specific length. The length wires can effect the resistance, I would check for splices or additional terminals. If it is a westach or a chinese copy falcon the "TECH INFO" operation instructions, how to use a voltmeter on a CHT meter with the leads removed may be helpful http://www.westach.com/
    Last edited by Vagabondblues; 11-11-2019 at 08:34 AM.

  4. #14
    Administrator Steve Pierce's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Location
    Graham, Texas, United States
    Posts
    12,287
    Post Thanks / Like
    Blog Entries
    1

    Default Re: Cylinder head temp gauge

    Doesn't look like anybWestach I have ever worked with. Doesnt Rotax use the smaller automotive type spark plugs?

  5. #15
    Gilbert Pierce's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Location
    Germantown, Tennessee 01TN
    Posts
    3,199
    Post Thanks / Like

    Default Re: Cylinder head temp gauge

    Rotax uses automotive plugs

  6. #16
    Flyjeep's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2018
    Location
    Southern IL
    Posts
    208
    Post Thanks / Like

    Default Re: Cylinder head temp gauge

    Just dug into the logbook and found where the gauge was installed in January of 1960. Time to just buy a new one or look into a better monitor setup. I don’t think this one is worth fixing. Thanks for the help

  7. #17
    Vagabondblues's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2008
    Location
    N/A
    Posts
    545
    Post Thanks / Like

    Default Re: Cylinder head temp gauge

    Quote Originally Posted by Steve Pierce View Post
    Doesn't look like anybWestach I have ever worked with. Doesnt Rotax use the smaller automotive type spark plugs?
    Just a guess!!!!!!!!!!!! 2 or 2.25" inch gauge, Celsius range (NEWER DESIGN WITH BOTH) Uses either 14mm or 18 mm spark plugs probes. Also, 14mm spark plugs were used on older aviation engines.
    Attached Images Attached Images

  8. #18
    Flyjeep's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2018
    Location
    Southern IL
    Posts
    208
    Post Thanks / Like

    Default Re: Cylinder head temp gauge

    Looks like a westach 2A1P will be a good and easy replacement.

  9. #19
    Administrator Steve Pierce's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Location
    Graham, Texas, United States
    Posts
    12,287
    Post Thanks / Like
    Blog Entries
    1

    Default Re: Cylinder head temp gauge

    Quote Originally Posted by Vagabondblues View Post
    Just a guess!!!!!!!!!!!!
    Like I said, didn't look like any Westach I had dealt with. Not a huge fan of their stuff from years of troubleshooting them and dealing with their customer support. Not that accurate and pretty critical where that connection is placed as it effects the temp reading. I don't remember the particulars but the data is out there on how their system works.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •