Welcome! Becoming a registered user of ShortWingPipers.Org is free and easy! Click the "Register" link found in the upper right hand corner of this screen. It's easy and you can then join the fun posting and learning about Short Wing Pipers!

Thread: Stalls

Post Thanks / Like

Default Stalls

I am a new student pilot and have a PA-22-150 i am learning in, I need someone to tell me about turning stalls in the tripacer. I have done power on and power off but no turning stalls yet. What should i expect?

Thanks

Post Thanks / Like

Default Re: Stalls

I'm not a CFI - If you don't care about that, read on.

I have a PA22-150 too. Turning stalls are only slightly different than straight ahead stalls. Start at 3,000 to 4,000 feet or lower if you're confident in yourself and your plane. I like at least 2,500 feet personally. Pull power, slow down - in the white arc - full flaps, trim aft-nose up, let it slow down. Pull up on the yoke, add power, don't descend - hold altitude and attitude and fly the plane - stay in it - do it slowly - keep pulling power and pulling aft on the yolk as you turn and just stay with it. Think through your feet and hands. Just stay in it. It'll break somewhere around 45 to 47 mph as you slow. Feel the lift the plane is giving you and be crisp on your toes and hold power and pitch attitude - hand on throttle...

Stand it on its tail, turning, and at some point with more pitch and more aileron it will break - a little more pronounced than straight ahead stall. Remember to turn very slowly with grace and precision and keep power until it breaks the way your turning. It's forgiving and responsive so just plan on that. It's like a big old slow parachute. Hand on power and when it breaks, -- what's your definition? Mine is VSI indicating 500 fpm down or a wing drop with nose heading down.