Welcome! Becoming a registered user of ShortWingPipers.Org is free and easy! Click the "Register" link found in the upper right hand corner of this screen. It's easy and you can then join the fun posting and learning about Short Wing Pipers!

Page 1 of 13 12311 ... LastLast

Thread: Vermont Clipper

Post Thanks / Like

Cool Vermont Clipper

Greetings to all. This is my first post of my very recently adopted PA 16 Clipper 5640H S/N 16-251. It seems to be a well cared for/maintained VFR airplane with the O-320 conversion. I’m a VFR Private Pilot SEL & SES with a little over 700 hrs lifetime flying, just under 600 tailwheel with 450 of that in the Luscombe 8E I owned for 17 years (and flew coast-to-coast & back) and the remaining time spread out between J3 Cubs, Clipped Wing Cub (on wheels and skis) C170, C180 and 7KCAB Citabria. I found this little gem while window-shopping in craigslist late one night and it just reached out to me and made me fly over to Maine and bring it home to VT. I have to admit, it humbled me right away. I thought with all my TW time and 50 hours in the Reed Clipped Wing I should have no trouble saddling up to the Clipper and figuring it out right away. Yeah...I was pretty quickly disabused of that notion on my first takeoff as I clumsily sawed at the rudder pedals trying to keep it straight. It reminded me of when I bought my Luscombe as a 100 PP with a fresh 15 hour TW signoff and couldn’t keep it going straight either. The Citabria I have been flying the past 2 summers wants a pretty solid boot on the rudders to make it do what you want but the Clipper apparently wants a very light touch. We’re descending into dark winter here now so my chances of good flying days will be pretty limited over the next few months so I already bought the Micro-Air VGs, a Steve’s Skylight STC and I want to upgrade the panel with Trig radio/transponder/ADSB & Garmin 275 PFD & Engine Monitoring gauges. That will help me clean up the sort of scattered panel and all