Welcome! Becoming a registered user of ShortWingPipers.Org is free and easy! Click the "Register" link found in the upper right hand corner of this screen. It's easy and you can then join the fun posting and learning about Short Wing Pipers!

Page 1 of 4 123 ... LastLast

Thread: Where does the PA-17 fall in landing difficulty.

Post Thanks / Like

Default Where does the PA-17 fall in landing difficulty.

Hello,
    I have a lot of hours in a lot of different taildraggers.
    My PA-17 (85 hp) seems to be a little more skittish on landing then the J3s I've been flying for the last 5 years.
    That being said, I've had to do some re-rigging on the rudder pedals and the rudder to get things equal, even and pointing in the same direction.
    Is it the plane, or my plane?
    Any words of wisdom?
    Last edited by Shepherd; 11-02-2021 at 03:53 PM.

Post Thanks / Like

Default Re: Where does the PA-17 fall in landing difficulty.

All the short wing taildraggers are short coupled, so they will be a little more twitchy than a J3.

Post Thanks / Like

My VAG is 13 inches shorter than my Clipper, consequently it is more skittish on landing.
    Lands like a J3, every thing just happens faster.

Post Thanks / Like

I have never found my PA17 Vag (65HP) skittish on landing but do have the larger Scott 3200 tailwheel which may help.
    Check your tailwheel castor angle for correct setup.
    TonyN

Post Thanks / Like

Same comment as comment as "tnowak" and I have a small Lang tailwheel and and C-85 engine.
    My Pacer is slightly more skittish on landing than the Vag
    "Progress is our most important problem"

Post Thanks / Like
    Blog Entries

Cubs will spoil you in my opinion.

Post Thanks / Like

I have a Maule tailwheel on mine.
    I'm also sorting out some issues with the rigging on the rudder.
    The previous custodian had the right rudder pedal set 2 inches back farther than the left pedal.