Welcome! Becoming a registered user of ShortWingPipers.Org is free and easy! Click the "Register" link found in the upper right hand corner of this screen. It's easy and you can then join the fun posting and learning about Short Wing Pipers!

Thanks Thanks:  0
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Newbie help needed

Post Thanks / Like

Default Newbie help needed

This is my first visit here and it looks to be very informative. A little about myself... I am a low time pilot just getting thru my check ride prep. I found a decent priced Tri Pacer with the 0290d2 motor and am trying to find a good a&p near KINT Winston-Salem NC to help with a pre buy. The owner said its a solid plane but the RPM gauge reads low and the transponder cuts in and out so the price is negotiable. I don't know what that would be worth so I would really like to find someone to help. Any thoughts or opinions etc. would be appreciated. Thanks.

Post Thanks / Like

Default Re: Newbie help needed

A 0-290 Tri Pacer should be a reasonable priced plane to purchase. I wonder what it means that the tach reads low. A new tach is no big deal. A transponder cutting out sounds like a solvable electrical problem. What is the engine compression history, how many hours since oh? How does the fabric look? Do you see any major rust inside on the tubing? Prob the lower longerons with an ice pick. How is the radio? Does it have adsb out? Fill the tanks and look for fuel leaks. Fly the plane, does it track straight?
    "You can only tie the record for flying low."

Post Thanks / Like

Thanks for the advice. I never would have known that the fuel tanks could be an issue. It has basic radios and adsb plus an older garmin. I suspect a lot of issues I could fix myself under a&p supervision.

Post Thanks / Like
    Blog Entries

Have you read this thread? https://www.shortwingpipers.org/foru...ase-Inspection
    Lots of avionics shops have stacks of older transponders if the issue is the transponder itself.