Welcome! Becoming a registered user of ShortWingPipers.Org is free and easy! Click the "Register" link found in the upper right hand corner of this screen. It's easy and you can then join the fun posting and learning about Short Wing Pipers!

Page 1 of 8 123 ... LastLast

Thread: Spins ????

Post Thanks / Like

Default Spins ????

I'm kind of a self taught PA-22 driver. I rented one back in the 50's. Bought one and had a CFI buddy fly back with me when I picked it up. This was his first flight in a shortwing and my first in over 50 years.

My CFI budy feels it would spin rather easily and could be a handful as far as spin recovery goes. I'm not so sure. With the plane's benign stall characteristics I think you'd have to really be ham fisted to force it into a spin. By now I have perhaps 80 hours in the plane and in my opinion it is a forgiving easy to fly machine. The only thing that I've found to be wary of is the sink rate which if you keep some energy isn't a real worry.

What do you experienced Shortwingers have to say about spins? Will it spin readily? If one did enter a spin is recovery conventional--that is release back pressure and opposite rudder?

Thanks

Paul
    N1431A
    KPLU

Post Thanks / Like
    Blog Entries

Default Re: Spins ????

I have spun a couple of Short Wings but it was very difficult to start. Took a very high nose up stall and hard rudder to start and then my clipper went over on her back and then spun. Neutral controls with opposite rudder stopped it.

Post Thanks / Like