Welcome! Becoming a registered user of ShortWingPipers.Org is free and easy! Click the "Register" link found in the upper right hand corner of this screen. It's easy and you can then join the fun posting and learning about Short Wing Pipers!

Thanks Thanks:  0
Likes Likes:  0
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 17

Thread: throttle and mixture clamps

  1. #1

    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Location
    Dundee,(Weston)NY and Hernando ,( Holder) Florida
    Posts
    398
    Post Thanks / Like

    Default throttle and mixture clamps

    N8835D 1958 Tripacer 160 is about ready to fly again after 2 yrs of off/on work. I am routing the carb and mix cables and am trying to position the clamp assembly that clamps onto the engine mount and in turn holds the carb cable and the mix cable in position.Does anyone have a photo the shows the installation of this part in place? Your help will be much appreciated. Larry Huntley

  2. #2
    Administrator Steve Pierce's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Location
    Graham, Texas, United States
    Posts
    14,680
    Post Thanks / Like
    Blog Entries
    1

    Default Re: throttle and mixture clamps

    Here are some pictures before and after engine and mount removal.

  3. #3
    Stephen's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Location
    Lopez Island, WA
    Posts
    4,035
    Post Thanks / Like

    Default Re: throttle and mixture clamps

    They are not easy to install or adjust with the muffler in place.
    "You can only tie the record for flying low."

  4. #4

    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Location
    Dundee,(Weston)NY and Hernando ,( Holder) Florida
    Posts
    398
    Post Thanks / Like

    Default Re: throttle and mixture clamps

    Thanx Steve,
    I was probably trying to put it on backwards. Will know in the morning. I appreciate your trouble. Larry

  5. #5
    Administrator Steve Pierce's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Location
    Graham, Texas, United States
    Posts
    14,680
    Post Thanks / Like
    Blog Entries
    1

    Default Re: throttle and mixture clamps

    I tried to install it backwards once myself.

  6. #6

    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Location
    Upstate New York
    Posts
    900
    Post Thanks / Like

    Default Re: throttle and mixture clamps

    Yeah, them that has, and them that will. The throttle tends to become aggravatingly stiff at full throw open OR closed, and it is REAL HARD to get the mixture to go "full rich" AND "idle cut-off" (that said just to prove that I've been there, too). Everything works SO MUCH better when that "standoff" is installed the correct way!

  7. #7
    Stephen's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Location
    Lopez Island, WA
    Posts
    4,035
    Post Thanks / Like

    Default Re: throttle and mixture clamps

    All right you guru's, it's reasuring to hear that you have tried to install this bracket backwards. I've spent more than a few moments trying to figure out how to properly install that bracket myself.
    "You can only tie the record for flying low."

  8. #8
    Administrator Steve Pierce's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Location
    Graham, Texas, United States
    Posts
    14,680
    Post Thanks / Like
    Blog Entries
    1

    Default Re: throttle and mixture clamps

    That is why digital cameras and a computer with lots of memory are two of my greatest restoration tools. The time between disassembly and reassembly requires too many nights of sleep in between.

  9. #9

    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Location
    Upstate New York
    Posts
    900
    Post Thanks / Like

    Default Re: throttle and mixture clamps

    SLEEP! You got time to SLEEP!!!???!!! You must have a whole platoon of guys working for ya! "Bout the only time I get any rest is when I take a nap whilst I'm typing into a Forum...

    Hear, hear! on the digital camera statement!

  10. #10
    andya's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Location
    UT47
    Posts
    1,947
    Post Thanks / Like

    Default Re: throttle and mixture clamps

    tell my why is it when i take over 100 pics on a project (even a simple one), I find out during re-assembly that I should have taken twice as many..... I suspect I'm the only one that does that though.....
    "Progress is our most important problem"

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •