Welcome! Becoming a registered user of ShortWingPipers.Org is free and easy! Click the "Register" link found in the upper right hand corner of this screen. It's easy and you can then join the fun posting and learning about Short Wing Pipers!

Thanks Thanks:  0
Page 2 of 2 FirstFirst 12
Results 11 to 20 of 20

Thread: Instrument Repair

  1. #11
    CamTom12's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2014
    Location
    Huntsville, AL
    Posts
    583
    Post Thanks / Like

    Default Re: Turn Coordinator not working

    Quote Originally Posted by pinkgas View Post
    Not being snarky here, but I always thought the turn co-ordinator was the ball-in-the-oil, smiley looking thingy. Makes me keep the rudder in step with the ailerons in a bank. The pretty colored gyro thingy is the attitude indicator (or artificial horizon) and keeps me straight and level. Or is this a "clip vs magazine" thing?
    That's technically an inclinometer, used to indicate coordinated flight.

    When it's paired with a single axis gyro and display it becomes either a turn and slip indicator:



    Or if the gyro is rotated to give yaw information as well as roll information, it's a turn coordinator:


  2. #12
    PeterL's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2009
    Location
    Horseshoe Valley, Ontario
    Posts
    608
    Post Thanks / Like

    Default Re: Turn Coordinator not working

    I would recommend the Dynon Pocket EFIS, replace all the old steam gauges.

    Check it out.

    http://dynonavionics.com/docs/D1_intro.html

    Peter

  3. #13
    mbond's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2013
    Posts
    95
    Post Thanks / Like

    Default Re: Turn Coordinator not working

    Quote Originally Posted by PeterL View Post
    I would recommend the Dynon Pocket EFIS, replace all the old steam gauges.
    That's great.

    when will the FAA catch up to the technology available? that little hand-held is likely more reliable (and accurate) than the gyros in our plane. plenty sufficient enough for VFR flying. How much weight could be saved by pulling all the old instruments in the panel that this replaces?

    I would love to use some of the larger dynon stuff int he tripacer ...

  4. #14

    Join Date
    Jun 2019
    Posts
    4
    Post Thanks / Like

    Default Who’s your favorite instrument repair shop?

    I need a rebuild on my artificial horizon .
    Last edited by Fly2m51; 06-30-2019 at 04:19 PM.

  5. #15
    Administrator Steve Pierce's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Location
    Graham, Texas, United States
    Posts
    11,859
    Post Thanks / Like
    Blog Entries
    1

    Default Re: Instrument Repair

    I have always used Rudy Aircraft Instruments in Rudy Arkansas with favorable results. http://rudyaircraftinstruments.com/

  6. #16
    Flyjeep's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2018
    Location
    Southern IL
    Posts
    171
    Post Thanks / Like

    Default Re: Instrument Repair

    I used Rudy for my ASI and they where very nice on the phone. If your not trying to stay all original, certification is coming on this
    https://aerovonics.com/av-30. Think it's the way I'm going eventually.

  7. #17
    Old3pacer's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2016
    Location
    Virginia
    Posts
    387
    Post Thanks / Like

    Default Re: Instrument Repair

    Or a garmin g5

  8. #18
    kchansen's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2011
    Location
    Eastern Iowa
    Posts
    117
    Post Thanks / Like

    Default Re: Instrument Repair

    The Garmin G5 or that Aerovonics solution are very intriguing to me as I look to "modernize" our Pacer's panel. The Aerovonics solution looks pretty affordable, too...

  9. #19
    Tailwind_Fan's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2019
    Location
    East of the Sierra Nevada Mountains...
    Posts
    31
    Post Thanks / Like

    Default Re: Instrument Repair

    I was just in Fort Smith last week, and took the drive up to Rudy to pick up my rebuilt ASI. I’ve yet to install it, but am very satisfied with their service so far.
    -Alana

  10. #20
    6PapaWhiskey's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2019
    Location
    Montgomery, AL
    Posts
    37
    Post Thanks / Like

    Default Re: Instrument Repair

    The G5 also has an RS-232 altitude encoder output, which was a factor when I installed one in my Wagabond. The GTX 335 I was installing needed an encoder input. Along with eliminating the need for an outboard encoder, it also eliminates the altimeter correspondence check that is required for IFR transponder checks (assuming that the G5 is your primary altimeter). No, my Wag is not IFR equipped. But altimeter correspondence issues can bite you in Class B airspace

    Tom P.
    N476PW
    Wagabond @ 08A

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •