Welcome! Becoming a registered user of ShortWingPipers.Org is free and easy! Click the "Register" link found in the upper right hand corner of this screen. It's easy and you can then join the fun posting and learning about Short Wing Pipers!

Thanks Thanks:  0
Page 1 of 7 123 ... LastLast

Thread: Climb props on a tri-pacer

Post Thanks / Like

Default Climb props on a tri-pacer

Hello everybody. Im new to this page but Ive been reading a lot of the threads.
    I have a question about climb props. I have a PA-22-160 with a Sensenich 74DM6-0-61 prop. Almost all of my flying is a 28 mile hop transporting people and cargo to and from our summerhouse, landing on an 800-1.100 foot sand strip (depends on the tide). A short takeoff loaded means the world to me, and Im prepared to sacrifice some miles in cruise speed to that effect.
    Does anyone have any experiance using a borer prop on a tri-pacer, the McCauley 1A175/GM824X? If so, what pitch would you recommend? Does it pull better then the Sensenich 74DM6-0-58? What kind of effect does it have on takeoff and cruise? Any problems with ground clearance?
    Sorry about this torrent of questions. Any stories and recommendations would be great.

Post Thanks / Like

Default Re: Climb props on a tri-pacer

the Sensenich 74DM6-0-58 would be a good choice for your use. You will find much better short field and climb performance with maybe only 3-4 mph loss in cruise at a same power setting
    "Progress is our most important problem"

Post Thanks / Like

If I'm reading it correctly the -58 is just a repitch of your prop.

$200 & shipping is my guess.

Post Thanks / Like