Welcome! Becoming a registered user of ShortWingPipers.Org is free and easy! Click the "Register" link found in the upper right hand corner of this screen. It's easy and you can then join the fun posting and learning about Short Wing Pipers!

Thanks Thanks:  0
Likes Likes:  0
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 19

Thread: Pitot Tube replacement

  1. #1
    Pacerfgoe's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2009
    Location
    Close to Edmonton, Alberta
    Posts
    796
    Post Thanks / Like

    Default Pitot Tube replacement

    I'm going to start looking at my wings next week, and as someone broke off my original one I need to come up with a replacement. The broken piece looks like copper....but i'm not sure how the little flange thingy that attaches the unit to the wing is cemented/soldered to the pitot tube. Would this unit from Spruce be acceptable..... http://www.aircraftspruce.ca/catalog...?clickkey=7405

    Any help here is appreciated
    Forrest Miller

  2. #2
    tnowak's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Location
    Hampshire, England
    Posts
    734
    Post Thanks / Like

    Default Re: Pitot Tube replacement

    On my Vagabond I have a near identical looking pitot tube. A few years ago the soft copper bent tube came loose from the attaching "penny washer" attachment. Just had it silver soldered.
    TonyN

  3. #3

    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Posts
    17
    Post Thanks / Like

    Default Re: Pitot Tube replacement

    I have the ACS pitot tube on my Vagabond and works well.
    Len

  4. #4
    Lownslow's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2009
    Location
    Victoria, Texas
    Posts
    758
    Post Thanks / Like

    Default Re: Pitot Tube replacement

    I installed the ACS tube on mine. It has a durable aluminum base and has a classy look.

    Lou

  5. #5
    Jim Hann's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2013
    Location
    Ballwin (St. Louis), Missouri
    Posts
    1,486
    Post Thanks / Like

    Default Re: Pitot Tube replacement

    Forrest,

    Do you have a 135? Because that model had the pitot and static on the wing. There are actually three different tubes, not that it matters with the ACS one, and the one I have from Univair for my 150 is not a PMA'd part, it is over $100 USD and is a repeat of the original. It came with my rebuilt wings.

    Jim
    1957 PA-22/20 "Super Pacer" based 1H0
    Lifetime EAA member
    Vintage Aircraft Association member
    Lifetime EAA Chapter 32 member


  6. #6
    Pacerfgoe's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2009
    Location
    Close to Edmonton, Alberta
    Posts
    796
    Post Thanks / Like

    Default Re: Pitot Tube replacement

    Quote Originally Posted by Jim Hann View Post
    Forrest,

    Do you have a 135? Because that model had the pitot and static on the wing. There are actually three different tubes, not that it matters with the ACS one, and the one I have from Univair for my 150 is not a PMA'd part, it is over $100 USD and is a repeat of the original. It came with my rebuilt wings.

    Jim
    Hi Jim,
    I have a 125....no static system at all. Is the tube in my link the ACS one?? All replys refer to an ACS part but i'm not sure if that's it....
    Forrest Miller

  7. #7
    Jim Hann's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2013
    Location
    Ballwin (St. Louis), Missouri
    Posts
    1,486
    Post Thanks / Like

    Default Re: Pitot Tube replacement

    Actually the link is for the later tube, The older one is a different part number that Univair doesn't have.

    I looked at the wing drawings and the mount is the same, so it will mount up just fine, as to the performance differences (tongue firmly in cheek) I couldn't tell you and you probably wouldn't be able to tell.
    1957 PA-22/20 "Super Pacer" based 1H0
    Lifetime EAA member
    Vintage Aircraft Association member
    Lifetime EAA Chapter 32 member


  8. #8
    moe2goe's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2010
    Location
    St. Pete, Fl.
    Posts
    328
    Post Thanks / Like

    Default Re: Pitot Tube replacement

    Hi Forrest, I used the one you linked from Aircraft Spruce on a 1956 and it worked just like original.
    Moe

  9. #9
    Pacerfgoe's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2009
    Location
    Close to Edmonton, Alberta
    Posts
    796
    Post Thanks / Like

    Default Re: Pitot Tube replacement

    Quote Originally Posted by moe2goe View Post
    Hi Forrest, I used the one you linked from Aircraft Spruce on a 1956 and it worked just like original.
    Moe
    Thanks for that Moe...
    Forrest Miller

  10. #10
    Clayton Harper's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Location
    Seabrook, TX
    Posts
    1,337
    Post Thanks / Like

    Default Re: Pitot Tube replacement

    Does your pitot look like this? If so, it is on the PA-15/17 Vagabond Dwg. CD. I built this one and the mount in about 2 hours.
    Attached Images Attached Images

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •